Problem with language selection

In this board you can talk about general questions about phpMyFAQ

Moderator: Thorsten

mathesonian
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 4:11 pm

Problem with language selection

Post by mathesonian » Wed Jan 30, 2013 8:11 pm

I am using phpmyfaq 2.7.9 and we are focusing on articles in six core languages.
However, I am running into a navigation problem using the language selection drop down menu.

If I select any language other than English(which is the default) as soon as I click a link on the faq it reverts back to the English.
For example, I select German from the drop down and I see the faq in German.
As soon I click on one of the category titles I created it will load that category but it will be showing it in English.
it does not seem to matter if automatic language detection is enabled in the config or not.

One thing I did notice is that if I am logged into my admin account while I am navigating, it acts as expected. I can select German and navigate through the faq in German until I select another language from the drop down.

Any ideas on what could cause this? Is there configuration option I am missing?

Thorsten
Posts: 14744
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 11:14 am
Location: #phpmyfaq
Contact:

Re: Problem with language selection

Post by Thorsten » Thu Jan 31, 2013 8:34 am

Hi,

can you please show me your FAQ?

bye
Thorsten
phpMyFAQ Maintainer and Lead Developer
amazon.de Wishlist

ludde__
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 4:11 pm

Re: Problem with language selection

Post by ludde__ » Mon Feb 11, 2013 4:13 pm

Hi

We have just installed PhpMyFAQ and I have the same problem with language selection, it works fine when logged in, but not when showing as guest. Has there been any solution to this problem?

Regards

B

Thorsten
Posts: 14744
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 11:14 am
Location: #phpmyfaq
Contact:

Re: Problem with language selection

Post by Thorsten » Mon Feb 11, 2013 4:16 pm

Hi,

I'm working on this.

bye
Thorsten
phpMyFAQ Maintainer and Lead Developer
amazon.de Wishlist

Thorsten
Posts: 14744
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 11:14 am
Location: #phpmyfaq
Contact:

Re: Problem with language selection

Post by Thorsten » Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:48 am

Hi,

okay, I got the database from mathesonian and I imported it into my test system. Interesting, it's working on my machine. :-(

I'll investigate what's happening.

bye
Thorsten
phpMyFAQ Maintainer and Lead Developer
amazon.de Wishlist

mathesonian
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 4:11 pm

Re: Problem with language selection

Post by mathesonian » Thu Feb 14, 2013 12:35 am

think it could be a configuration problem with Apache?
Its installed on a pretty stock install of CentOS 5.6 Final.
Any additional details I can provide or look for to help narrow it down?

Thorsten
Posts: 14744
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 11:14 am
Location: #phpmyfaq
Contact:

Re: Problem with language selection

Post by Thorsten » Thu Feb 14, 2013 9:29 am

Hi,

I think it's an issue with the session cookie. I'm currently testing something, please give me some days.

bye
Thorsten
phpMyFAQ Maintainer and Lead Developer
amazon.de Wishlist

tzwicker
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 2:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem with language selection

Post by tzwicker » Tue Mar 19, 2013 12:43 pm

Hi,
i have got the same problem.
When logged in it is ok, but when i close all browsers where i am logged in it flips always back to Standard language: German. (we only have unregistered users German/English)
In firefox you can configure English for instance to Standard language then it is fine
But IE ... behaves strange, and also firefox.
Using latest released Version 2.7.9

Hoping for a fast fix - Best regards Thorsten Z

JochenS
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 3:51 pm
Location: Schönaich
Contact:

Re: Problem with language selection

Post by JochenS » Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:56 pm

Have you configured the "Enable automatic language detection"? This reads out the locale from the browser. Eample FF: Options - Content - language - Choose
Our public FAQ is proudly powered by phpMyFAQ: http://vhtfaq.ge51.honeywell.de/

tzwicker
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 2:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem with language selection

Post by tzwicker » Wed Mar 20, 2013 8:20 am

Enable automatic language detection have no effect on this.
The only change i had the last days it seemed to work after checking/unchecking this feature (but i was logged in of course and this why it was working so i oversaw this bug ...)
In 2.7.1 this setting did not work at all, now when i use english firefox it works with Enable automatic language detection but not with IE 9 e.g.

Furtheron calling phpymyfaq with
.../index.php?lang=en or switching language with language picker it switches always back to german.

I try to find where the code goes in Session.php ...

tzwicker
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 2:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem with language selection

Post by tzwicker » Wed Mar 20, 2013 8:23 am

@jochenS
At your phpmayfaq the problem is the same ;-).
Switch language and click at an english article, you will see it goes back to german left (Navigator) and right

JochenS
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 3:51 pm
Location: Schönaich
Contact:

Re: Problem with language selection

Post by JochenS » Wed Mar 20, 2013 8:50 am

@tzwicker you are right :oops: The only excuse is that the FAQ in the footer is not the primary, but the only public one.

But there is the detection enabled. I fear we need to wait for Thorsten, I am just an "advanced user". Have you opened an issue in git already? (On my sever there are too much session cookies).
Our public FAQ is proudly powered by phpMyFAQ: http://vhtfaq.ge51.honeywell.de/

tzwicker
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 2:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem with language selection

Post by tzwicker » Wed Mar 20, 2013 11:16 am

Hi no idea on how to create incidents on github/phpmyfaq ...

tzwicker
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 2:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem with language selection

Post by tzwicker » Wed Mar 20, 2013 12:32 pm

Hi the problem was in index.php (root folder of phpmyfaq)
I fixed it by eliminating the session.destroy function in index.php (line 144 and above)

@JochenS: i saw your company is customer from our us collegues.
Best regards Thorsten Z.

sos.sealsystems.de

JochenS
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 3:51 pm
Location: Schönaich
Contact:

Re: Problem with language selection

Post by JochenS » Wed Mar 20, 2013 1:35 pm

Simply open https://github.com/thorsten/phpMyFAQ/issues and create an account.

Here is the ticket for Thorsten:
https://github.com/thorsten/phpMyFAQ/issues/654
Our public FAQ is proudly powered by phpMyFAQ: http://vhtfaq.ge51.honeywell.de/

Post Reply