Major problem with layout on IE 6 and 7

In this board you can talk about general questions about phpMyFAQ

Moderator: Thorsten

Post Reply
rickliveops
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 8:57 pm
Location: Palo Alto, California
Contact:

Major problem with layout on IE 6 and 7

Post by rickliveops »

Well, this was a shock: I've been developing phpMyFAQ on Mac, using Firefox and everything looks fine. However, on Windows XP on IE 6 and IE 7, the style sheets are not being read and none of the links actually work. I will enclose a screen shot below. The content is rendered in one long page, no columns, no colors, no icons. Just plain, non-functional html.

Surely this is something I can fix easily? Do I need to change a directive in the style sheet somewhere?
rickliveops
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 8:57 pm
Location: Palo Alto, California
Contact:

Suspicious stuff in style sheet declaration?

Post by rickliveops »

I've found some things that looked suspicious in the style declarations, but cannot fix the problem.

Suspicious thing #1
Neither style.css nor colors.css had Windows line endings. But replacing the Unix \n with CRLF (chr(13)chr(10)) made any difference.
The other css files had Windows line endings.

Suspicious thing #2
The style declaration in index.tpl is rather cryptic. I'm not really that technical so maybe it is all ok, but this looked scary:

<style type="text/css" media="screen"> /*<![CDATA[*/ <!--
@import url(template/style.css);
@import url(template/colors.css);
--> /*]]>*/ </style>

<style type="text/css" media="print"> /*<![CDATA[*/ <!--
@import "template/print.css";
--> /*]]>*/ </style>

Replacing this with standard <link rel='stylesheet' href='template/style.css type='text/css'> didn't hurt Firefox but didn't help IE.

So I am completely stumped. Hope you can help.
Thorsten
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 11:14 am
Location: #phpmyfaq
Contact:

Post by Thorsten »

Hi,

sorry, but I cannot reproduce this on my systems with IE6 and IE7. Did you changed something in the CSS files?

bye
Thorsten
phpMyFAQ Maintainer and Lead Developer
amazon.de Wishlist
rickliveops
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 8:57 pm
Location: Palo Alto, California
Contact:

Changed CSS

Post by rickliveops »

Yes, I changed colors.css to match our corporate color scheme more closely, but that was about it.

I also changed artikel.tpl to move some content areas around.

Everything works fine on Firefox on both Mac and Win.

I put everything back the way it was (did a cvs up, located all the modified files, moved them out of the way and did cvs up again. I redirect my stdout to a file, then grep for changed files, conflicts and files cvs knows nothing about:
[rick@dev8-pai phpmyfaq]$ grep ^[CMU?] .update
? .update
? attachments
? data
? pdf
? xml
? images/Image
? images/lo-logo.gif
? images/lo_white_blue.gif
? inc/data.php
? inc/index.html
? template/.update
? template/index.tpl.modified

This looks fine to me. Do you agree?)

I noticed that the index.tpl is generating a script error. When I debug it, it complains about line 35: saying "Object Expected" and pointing to this html code:

<body dir="ltr" onload="javascript:focusOnSearchField();">

I don't know if that has anything to do with it, because IE doesn't seem to like a <body tag in the default home page loaded on my Toshiba laptop either.

But the bottom line is, the unmodified PMF code doesn't seem to run on IE for me. Could my apache be misconfigured for IE browsers?
Thorsten
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 11:14 am
Location: #phpmyfaq
Contact:

Post by Thorsten »

Hi,

is it possible for me to access your FAQ?

bye
Thorsten
phpMyFAQ Maintainer and Lead Developer
amazon.de Wishlist
rickliveops
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 8:57 pm
Location: Palo Alto, California
Contact:

Post by rickliveops »

Unfortunately, my installation is behind our VPN. I will have to ask for permission to give you access (and you'd have to install our VPN client). I will see if there is any easier way to do this.
Thorsten
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 11:14 am
Location: #phpmyfaq
Contact:

Post by Thorsten »

Hi,

okay :-)

bye
Thorsten
phpMyFAQ Maintainer and Lead Developer
amazon.de Wishlist
rickliveops
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 8:57 pm
Location: Palo Alto, California
Contact:

Some answers

Post by rickliveops »

I have tracked this down a bit further:

The stylesheets are loaded if I put explicit, absolute links in place of the relative ones. E.g.:
@import url(http://dev8-pai.liveops.com:10577/faq/t ... sheet}.css);
@import url(http://dev8-pai.liveops.com:10577/faq/t ... colors.css);

works, but
@import url(template/{stylesheet}.css);
@import url(template/colors.css);
does not.

Unfortunately, this problem appears to be with ALL links in the application, so clearly, I can't search and replace every occurence.

I am wondering if this problem might have something to do with using a port number in URL. (I had to do this, because I share the development machine and the standard environment doesn't support php).

I will see if I can get our NetOps group to give me a virtual host and see if that works around the issue, but if you can confirm or deny that this is the problem I would appreciate it.
Thorsten
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 11:14 am
Location: #phpmyfaq
Contact:

Post by Thorsten »

Hi,

ah, this is strange because the CSS should use the relative code. For the links we've got already a patch and it will be released in 2.0.1

Sorry for these problems!

bye
Thorsten
phpMyFAQ Maintainer and Lead Developer
amazon.de Wishlist
rickliveops
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 8:57 pm
Location: Palo Alto, California
Contact:

Post by rickliveops »

Hi Thorsten

Do you think things will work better with a virtual host, so I don't need to use the port number?

Rick
Thorsten
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 11:14 am
Location: #phpmyfaq
Contact:

Post by Thorsten »

Hi,

you should give it a try!

bye
Thorsten
phpMyFAQ Maintainer and Lead Developer
amazon.de Wishlist
rickliveops
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 8:57 pm
Location: Palo Alto, California
Contact:

Post by rickliveops »

Unfortunately, I won't be able to implement phpMyFAQ on a machine with no specified port number for several more weeks. So it would be great if there were a fix to the path problem in IE soon. Do you have any idea when 2.1 will be available? (I know, we haven't even gotten to 2.0 Final yet. Sorry!)
Thorsten
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 11:14 am
Location: #phpmyfaq
Contact:

Post by Thorsten »

Hi,

the bugfixed version 2.0.1 should be out in the next days.

bye
Thorsten
phpMyFAQ Maintainer and Lead Developer
amazon.de Wishlist
Post Reply