Multiple FAQs in one installation

In this board you can talk about general questions about phpMyFAQ

Moderator: Thorsten

Post Reply
flotschgo_mdtl
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 3:22 pm

Multiple FAQs in one installation

Post by flotschgo_mdtl » Wed Oct 02, 2013 4:01 pm

Hi,

i'm new to phpMyFAQ and have the following requirements:

- i need multiple different FAQs for different shops/domains, f.e. webshop.at, webshop.de, webshop.ch
- i would like to have only one installation/database of phpmyfaq

i think thats possible with 3 different main categories, isnt it?

challenges i can think of now is getting latest and related faqs only for one main category!

thanks in advance for help!

Thorsten
Posts: 15051
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 11:14 am
Location: #phpmyfaq
Contact:

Re: Multiple FAQs in one installation

Post by Thorsten » Thu Oct 03, 2013 2:35 pm

Hi,

phpMyFAQ supports mulit sites, but only with own database per site, not shared ones...

bye
Thorsten
phpMyFAQ Maintainer and Lead Developer
amazon.de Wishlist

flotschgo_mdtl
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 3:22 pm

Re: Multiple FAQs in one installation

Post by flotschgo_mdtl » Tue Oct 08, 2013 8:59 am

thanks for your answer!

am i seeing this right that a multisite installation is only possible with one maindomain and multiple subdomains?

possible in one installation:
faqshop.de
beta.faqshop.de
alhpha.faqshop.de

not possible in one installation (this is what i need!):
faqshop.de
faqshop.at
faqshop.ch

?

Thorsten
Posts: 15051
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 11:14 am
Location: #phpmyfaq
Contact:

Re: Multiple FAQs in one installation

Post by Thorsten » Thu Oct 10, 2013 5:54 pm

Hi,

yes, that's right, but it should be possible to extend this feature...

bye
Thorsten
phpMyFAQ Maintainer and Lead Developer
amazon.de Wishlist

pt20100201
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 2:11 pm
Location: Porto . Portugal
Contact:

[ Doubt ] Re: Multiple FAQs in one installation

Post by pt20100201 » Tue Nov 12, 2013 11:36 pm

[ Doubt ] Re: Multiple FAQs in one installation
..
Dear Thorsten Rinne / Development Team
Thorsten wrote:...
phpMyFAQ supports mulit sites, but only with own database per site, not shared ones...
...
Just to be absolute sure (with v.2.8.2)
  • http://faq.example.org/astronomy/
    and
    http://faq.example.org/biology/
need two completely separate databases (thus separated tables), e.g.,
  • astronomy DB + astronomy_faqconfig table + other phpMyFAQ "astronomy_" prefixed tables
    and
    biology DB + biology_faqconfig table + other phpMyFAQ "biology_" prefixed tables
and not one database containing tables with different prefixes, e.g.
  • science DB + astronomy_faqconfig table + other phpMyFAQ "astronomy_" prefixed tables
    and
    science DB + biology_faqconfig table + other phpMyFAQ "biology_" prefixed tables
..
Thanking in advance
.
Kind regards
2013-11-12
pt20100201
..

Thorsten
Posts: 15051
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 11:14 am
Location: #phpmyfaq
Contact:

Re: Multiple FAQs in one installation

Post by Thorsten » Thu Nov 14, 2013 5:15 pm

Hi,

you can use one database, the post before mentioned an single installation using the multi site feature. I have 10 FAQ installation locally in one database using prefixes.

bye
Thorsten
phpMyFAQ Maintainer and Lead Developer
amazon.de Wishlist

joka
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 6:55 pm

Re: Multiple FAQs in one installation

Post by joka » Thu Jan 02, 2014 7:09 pm

Thorsten wrote:Hi,

yes, that's right, but it should be possible to extend this feature...

bye
Thorsten
I hit this issue approximately 5 minutes after installing phpmyfaq. I run several "brands" on the same base architecture. Each brand has it's own FAQ and of course a different domain name. I see no technical issues in running different domains under the same install of phpmyfaq, provided that the web server handles this "mapping", as it does when mapping the A.site.com and B.site.com.

thank you.

Thorsten
Posts: 15051
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 11:14 am
Location: #phpmyfaq
Contact:

Re: Multiple FAQs in one installation

Post by Thorsten » Thu Jan 02, 2014 7:23 pm

Hi,

yes, it should be possible. We could add this enhancement in 2.9 if you like. Please file a feature request at https://github.com/thorsten/phpMyFAQ/is ... state=open

bye
Thorsten
phpMyFAQ Maintainer and Lead Developer
amazon.de Wishlist

Post Reply