Database creation

All about webserver configurations, PHP and databases.

Moderator: Thorsten

Post Reply
ChrisJC
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 4:48 pm

Database creation

Post by ChrisJC » Tue Feb 26, 2013 5:32 pm

I'm having trouble installing phpMyFAQ on a new subdomain for a new site. I have created a new database (mysql) and run a create table sql command from a test page in the site to check the db connection is working and the table was created.
I get to the first page of install/setup.php and input the db and admin settings. The db credentials are correctly entered to config/database.php.
I don't get any error, all I get on the following page is the setup header and then blank. If I refresh the page I get the do you want to update link. If I click I get the setup header again. No tables are created in the database.

Has anyone seen this before, no where to look? The FAQ version is 2.7.9 and my php version is 5.3.21

Many thanks,
Chris

Thorsten
Posts: 15016
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 11:14 am
Location: #phpmyfaq
Contact:

Re: Database creation

Post by Thorsten » Tue Feb 26, 2013 6:03 pm

Hi,

please try to enable the debug mode in inc/Init.php and reload the page

bye
Thorsten
phpMyFAQ Maintainer and Lead Developer
amazon.de Wishlist

ChrisJC
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 4:48 pm

Re: Database creation

Post by ChrisJC » Fri Mar 01, 2013 5:02 pm

Hi,

Thanks for the reply. I've just done that and it has made no difference. I put in my db and admin details, click in install and get the page with the title 'phpMyFAQ 2.7.9 Setup' then below a black bar with links in orange to Documentation, Support, Forums and FAQ

Thorsten
Posts: 15016
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 11:14 am
Location: #phpmyfaq
Contact:

Re: Database creation

Post by Thorsten » Fri Mar 01, 2013 6:24 pm

HI,

please add a screenshot to see where the error happens

bye
Thorsten
phpMyFAQ Maintainer and Lead Developer
amazon.de Wishlist

ChrisJC
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 4:48 pm

Re: Database creation

Post by ChrisJC » Mon Mar 04, 2013 10:27 am

Hi,
I've attached a screen shot of the page I get after putting admin/database details in. The config/database.php file appears to be being created correctly.

Many thanks.
Chris
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Thorsten
Posts: 15016
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 11:14 am
Location: #phpmyfaq
Contact:

Re: Database creation

Post by Thorsten » Tue Mar 05, 2013 11:59 am

Hi,

do you see the same if you enable the debug mode in inc/Init.php?

bye
Thorsten
phpMyFAQ Maintainer and Lead Developer
amazon.de Wishlist

Post Reply